Kitchen Thermometer Review – It’s Epica

When I was given a digital meat thermometer to review I must admit I was sceptical, it wasn’t something I had used before tending just to go with recommended timings when cooking meat but after a bit of reading I was intrigued.

Meat thermometers are used a lot in professional kitchens but are great for in a domestic setting too, it takes away the guess work especially when trying to cook a steak to a certain level, ie medium or well done. More importantly though it lets you know for certain if a meat has been cooked properly to kill bacteria, perfect for those dodgy chicken breasts on bbq’s.

They can also help from overcooking as you know once it reaches a certain temperature it’s safely cooked, so no more chewy pork chops and no more cutting your lovely roast in half to make sure it’s cooked through.

011

When the Epica thermometer arrived it immediately looked and felt like a good quality product, it seemed robust but most important to me was if it was user friendly.013

I decided to try it out on a gammon joint I had bought and was particularly keen to see if it worked as I had previously frozen the joint and needed to make sure it was cooked through fully without overcooking it.

The instructions on the back of the packet seem easy enough to follow but I would have liked some sort of table of cooking temperature guidelines, as it was a quick google search brought up some good sites so I knew what temperature to look for.

The Epica thermometer comes with batteries so we were ready to go straight away all I had to do was wait for Mr B to prepare the ham and get it in the oven.

009
Mr B’s handsome butt

If you are like me and have a habit of not being able to find what you are looking for the thermometer comes with a handy clip so you can hook it onto a pocket or on an apron.

Rather than wait till the full cooking time and just take the ham out and hope for the best about 15 minutes before it was due to finish I tried out the thermometer.

It takes the readings very quickly (5-8 seconds) so you don’t loose time taking the meat out of the oven but it’s not designed to be left in the oven (melted plastic in your meat is never good).

Once you have switched the on button and chosen your temperature type (there is a simple button on the back to change between celsius and fahrenheit) you just insert the probe into the thickest part of the meat and press the min/max button, the first reading is the maximum temperature measured, press again for minimum and a third time for the normal display.

012The actual probe seemed a good length and went easily into the meat and the temperature display was clear and easy to read.

Altogether this seemed easy peasy to use and resulted in me taking the joint out earlier than I would have normally and I have to say it was one of the juiciest ham’s I’ve had, possibly as we didn’t overcook it. The probe is easily cleaned and when finished the protective plastic sheath keeps it safe from little fingers.

I’m looking forward to trying this out on various things such as steaks to see if I can get the perfect medium, we like to make jam in the summer so the fact that this thermometer goes up to 392 degrees fahrenheit (unlike a lot of meat thermometers is great as it means we can use it for this too.) It’s also a great excuse to get Mr b cooking we lot’s more lovely dishes!

The Epica ES432 Stem thermometer reviewed here retails for £21.95 from Amazon

Leave a Reply

