Magazine to Masterpieces – 3D Heart Picture

My sister l001oves her glossy mags and I love getting them passed on to me, but I hate having to throw them in the recycling afterwards so this time I thought I’d try my hand at turning them into something a bit more interesting.

I’d seen pictures before of 3D papercraft pictures featuring hearts and butterflies so I decided to give it a try.

First of all I cut a heart template from a piece of card folded in half so it was symmetrical, then I set about scouring the magazine for the colours and patterns I wanted. I chose to go for a pink and grey colour scheme and used my template to cut out hearts of the same size (if you’re not keen on doing the cutting yourself there are punches you can buy).

002

Once I’d cut the hearts I had to decide on my design, I’d seen lovely images of hearts made into one large heart design but the frame I had to hand wasn’t large enough so I stuck with a simple column design.

I got the back from my frame (one of the Ikea Ribba range which I love because you can adjust the aperture using the border plus you can place your picture at the front or rear of the deep frame), and pasted a sheet of canvas from a drawing pad onto it using PVA glue to give a nice textured finish.

003005006 (1024x768)The next bit was the tricky part, I brushed pva glue along the folded edge of each heart on the side that would be against the canvas and carefully pressed them down using the edge of a ruler along the crease. It took some measuring to make sure they were symmetrical (I’m a little ocd about things like that) and then I just had to wait for the glue to dry.

It looked a little wet behind some of the paler hearts when I first applied the glue but it soon dries and now and all that remains is for them to be hung with pride of place in my daughters room.

So here’s the end result I’m really pleased with it and plan to go for a butterfly picture next time, why not give it a shot. If you’re not feeling arty you can buy similar one’s from Argos or other retailers, but then you won’t get to find out what’s hot and what’s not in celeb-land first!

022013

I knew all those pictures of Kim Kardashian had to be good for something!

One thought on “Magazine to Masterpieces – 3D Heart Picture

Leave a Reply

